RSS

To Binge or Not to Binge

25 Sep

Decisions, decisions. The road on the left is ...It’s the weekend again and I got sucked into yet another binge-cycle.  I’ve been drinking a lot of diet coke lately and I did not want to drive all the way to our military post on a Saturday to get a bottle (I can’t stand the German version of diet coke, so I have to get it on post).  As my day progressed, I started getting the usual withdrawal symptoms – light headache, cravings for something sweet, etc.  I had visions of this wonderful slice of layered cake that I couldn’t get out of my head.  Eventually, I decided to act on the craving and went with my son to the Eiscafe for some ice-cream and then to the grocery store, where we bought dinner and a bunch of junk….  So you know how the rest of my day went.

It is now Sunday. So, again, I was at a junction:  continue low-carb or continue binge.  Hmmmm… I still  had some rolls for breakfast and left-over junk food that I didn’t eat yet.  The decision should’ve been quite easy:  get back to low-carb, of course. That’s when my cravings are at bay.  But then I looked at the other stuff and decided that I don’t want to miss out on the other goodies that I still had on the counter.  So the binge continued.

Update:  Monday, I was back on track.  Of course I was.  I’ve been playing this game for a long time now.  Eat on plan without trouble while I have a structured day at work, then binge on the weekend, because I always find an excuse to eat my beloved junk.  It doesn’t make sense to negate all the progress I’ve made during the week, but the lure is still too strong.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 25, 2011 in Binging, Food Addiction, Low-Carb Diet

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
