RSS

Thursday – Day 4 Back on Low-Carb

06 Oct

Morning:

I’m almost back to my pre-binge weight from last week.  Isn’t that something?  Just when a new weekend is about to start, I finally repaired my damage from the weekend before.  That’s pathetic, yet very real.

Nevertheless, my morning went well – had a quick breakfast sausage right before leaving the house and arrived at work just in time for the craziness to start.

Work:

About 9.30 a.m. I started to get a bit hungry, so I decided to eat my cucumber salad, which held me nicely until lunch.  I did bring another batch of chicken curry, which I only ate about half of until I was done with it.  Actually, the fact that I was able to put away the extra food felt pretty good.  On good days, I can walk away from food (or push it away)when I;m done.  Like so many people, I have a hard time tossing food out.  That definitely wasn’t the problem today.

After I ate, I ran some errands and stopped by the Shoppette to buy some more diet coke and sugar-free gum.  I was so tempted to buy some gummy-bears (or other candy in that genre).  The strange thing is, the voice in my head (no, not what you think) kept telling me:  “Hey, it’s Thursday!  Tomorrow is Friday!  You can have a sweet treat!  It’s the WEEKEND!”  My reaction: “NOT!” My entire week went so smooth, I’d be crazy to throw the towel and get on the binge-train.  So I went to the back of the store, picked up a baggie of pistachios, paid for my stuff, and that was the end of that.

For the rest of my workday, I pretty much stayed focused on a project I’m working on.  During distractions, when I wanted to snack on something, I just poured out some pistachios on my desk and started crunching away. I did have a mild headache, but nothing earth-shattering.

Dinner:

Threw the last zip-lock container of chicken curry in the freezer.  Just got a tad tired of looking at it for 3 days in a row.  I was super-tired and brain-fried from work, so dinner had to be a quick fix.  I tossed some spaghetti into some boiling water for hubby, made a quick tomato sauce with ground meat and some chopped up onions and garlic, and reheated some random stuff for hubby and the kids (I call these dinners the “Last Chance Before Tossing Meals”.  I ate some of my last spaghetti squash with tomato sauce, topped with some Swiss cheese.  It was just what I needed and was finished after I ate half of my bowl.  Hubby had real spaghetti with chicken wings from the other day.  The kids came in late tonight, so, who knows what they had…

Also finished up my bone-broth today.  I poured my broth from the crock-pot into a colander, lined with a paper towel to catch all the tiny bone fragments, into a pitcher, added some salt, pepper, and nutmeg, and poured the cooled broth into an empty water bottle, so I can take it to work in the morning and have some yummy chicken broth, which I can heat up in the microwave in my favorite cup.  I’m so looking forward to that!

What I’ve learned:

Just because I have some urges to eat something that’ll throw me into a binge and make me spin out of control, doesn’t mean I have to follow through.  There are good alternatives out there that are just as good and satisfying without the bad side-effects.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 6, 2011 in Food Addiction, Low-Carb Diet

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
