RSS

2013 Low-Carb Cruise Success-Story in the Making

15 May

If you have never been on a Low-Carb Cruise, you’re missing out!  This year’s cruise departed from Galveston, TX and stopped in Montego Bay, Jamaica, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, and Cozumel, Mexico.  When we weren’t having fun playing with the stingrays and sea-turtles in the Cayman Islands, we got to hang out with all the low-carb experts (and yes, they are normal people, just like you and me), learned a lot from awesome lectures during sea days, and made tons of new friends.

The talks were so informative and motivating and I have learned that even a little bit of wheat acts like an opiate and can wreak havoc in the body, in my case, my hands and ankles swell nicely.  Who needs that?  Another interesting fact I picked up was that consuming artificially sweetened food, can still cause an insulin response, when the food passes taste receptors in the intestines.  If you ask me, I am not interested in increasing my diabetes risk even more than it already is.  Especially motivating was the touching presentation of success stories from some fellow low-carbers on this cruise.  Wow, if these people can make such a huge difference in their lives, I thought, so can I.

My biggest motivator, however, was winning the Low-Carb Cruise grand prize of $500 towards a stateroom of the 2013 Low-Carb Cruise, which is setting sail in New Orleans next May.  I’ll post more about that when I know more.  Anyway, my goal for next year’s cruise is to have a success-story myself.  I really want this!!!

So, What Would I Consider Success?

  No more swollen ankles
  Awesome blood-work
  Comfortably wear a size 14 (or smaller) jeans

My Action Plan:

♥  Stay entirely off wheat (which causes my swelling)
♥  Ditch the diet coke (can cause weight-loss stalls)
  Lay off all sweeteners (can cause insulin response)
♥  Shape-Shift (tone up twice a week)
  Journal and blog at least once or twice a week about my progress
  Get blood-work done ASAP & again before the cruise
♥  And, of course, continue to eat low-carb

So, one day after my return from the cruise (did I mention that I did not gain a single pound on the trip), I’m off to a good start.  I finished off my last diet coke, stayed low-carb all day, and my ketostick was a nice pink.  I like it when I burn fat and make ketones!

Stay tuned for more progress…

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2012 in Low-Carb Cruise, Low-Carb Diet

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “2013 Low-Carb Cruise Success-Story in the Making

  1. Becky Winn

    May 22, 2012 at 3:59 am

    It was great to meet you on the cruise, and I am glad you won the grand prize drawing. It couldn’t have happened to a nicer person. I look forward to following your success story, and I know you can do it! I am on the same journey myself, so we can cheer each other on.

     
    • Nickie

      May 24, 2012 at 10:40 pm

      Same here, I really enjoyed hanging out with you on the cruise. Let’s both be success stories next year. What do you say?

       
  2. Suzanne

    May 27, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    I look forward to following your journey. It sounds like the cruise gave you the knowledge & support you need to become the best you can be. I sure envy that and hopefully will gain insight from you on what you learned to make the shift. So happy for you.

     
    • Nickie

      May 28, 2012 at 3:15 pm

      Thanks, Suzanne! I just wish you could have come along. Maybe next year?

       
  3. healthywholelipids

    June 1, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    Hi Nickie! It was great meeting you on the cruise, I really hope Jess and I get to make it next year so we can chat again.

    Love this post, the speakers and our fellow cruise mates inspired me as well- I also made up a “list” of things to do this year. hehe.

    Take care!
    Mel

     
  4. Nickie

    June 1, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    Wasn’t it a great trip, Mel? Headin’ over to your blog and see what’s new. I love how you guys are writing about practical day-to-day low-carb stuff. I’m looking forward to see your blog grow. See you guys around the blogosphere and hopefully on the next cruise!!!

     
  5. Andrew DiMino

    June 3, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    Nickie, it was great meeting you on the Low Carb Cruise and I know you will definitely be a Low Carb Success even more than you are now. Keep up the great work! Keep us up to date on your progress.

     
  6. katharinetrauger

    June 6, 2012 at 11:25 am

    Congratulations on winning the prize on your cruise!
    I found you at the new WordPress post about foodblogging and just had to come by. I used to use this Choco theme, but it always made me want chocolate, which I do use, but not EVERY time I blog!
    If you are interested in some breakfast recipes, you may check my site at katharine.trauger.wordpress.com. Search “A-OK Breakfast”. The “A” stand for Atkins, although I haven’t read one of his books in years. I just do low carb as a choice. Often dream of opening an A-OK restaurant. 😉
    I was surprised reading this that you would accept sauces such as on the shrimp, on your recent post. I would think they were high carb. As a gourmet cook, I know most sauces are based either on flour or cornstarch, with deviations into tapioca and potato. Just curious how you knew it was okay.
    One question: do you mean to say that stevia as a sweetener is totally off? Thanks!

     
    • Nickie

      June 6, 2012 at 1:53 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Katharine. You got quite a few questions there, so let me go through them one by one.

      About the theme, I use it, because it reminds me of where I have been, but I don’t get cravings from it, so I’m okay. When I do get a craving for something sweet, e.g. TOM, I have a small square of dark chocolate, usually 83% or higher. I don’t even like normal chocolate anymore – I never thought I’d say this…lol I am moving away from the very chocolaty blog and am in the process of moving over to a self-hosted site. I’m still playing with themes, but this new one will be less tempting for folks…

      Wow, an A-OK restaurant, what a cool idea. And since you are a gourmet cook, maybe one day you’ll take the plunge. Heading over to your site in a minute to check out your breakfasts.

      About the sauce on the shrimp scampi, it was also on the gluten-free menu (staying off grains is my biggest priority, since gluten makes me swell up all over the place.) Normally, shrimp scampi is a butter/cream sauce, so I wasn’t worried. I usually stay very low in the carbs most days, so when I go out, I do not obsess much about my food. I usually order a meat, a salad & a veggie (hold bread & croutons) and just use common sense and pick the best choice for nutrition & taste. I also pick the serving staff’s brain if I’m unsure about something. My carbs for that meal may be a little higher, but in the big picture, I don’t sweat it, because overall I eat very low-carb (I don’t count carbs, though).

      Finally, about the sweetener, I’m not an expert, but I learned on the cruise, that receptors in the intestines may pick up the sweetness, even from artificial sweeteners, and may cause an insulin response. My goal is not to sweeten stuff liberally with Splenda or Truvia, like I have done until recently, but to use it only when I can’t absolutely do without, and then only use a portion of the recommended amount (e.g. I made some low-carb ketchup the other day, which called for 1/3 c of splenda. I just added 2 or 3 packets of Truvia for the big batch until it tasted well enough.

      I’m still a work in progress and I’m learning along the way what works for me and what doesn’t, and occasionally my views will change, it’s all part of the journey.

       
      • katharinetrauger

        June 6, 2012 at 4:39 pm

        Thanks for all these answers, and for visiting over at my place! 🙂 I use the high percentage chocolate, too. Even my grandkids love it, and ask me if I have candy in my purse. I tell them, “NO! What do I have in my purse?!” (It’s a game.) They answer in unison, “CHOCOLATE!”
        It’s only 4 carbs per square – yay!
        I cannot use splenda at all. It gives me the jitters. I thought I noticed that with pure stevia, too, but refused to admit it. Sighs. Could it be? NO-O-O-O! 😛

         

Leave a Reply

 
